Stepmom……My most recent favourite movie

Isabel: Look down the road to her wedding. I’m in a room alone with her, fixing her veil, fluffing her dress, telling her no woman has ever looked so beautiful. And my fear is she’ll think, “I wish my mom were here.”
Jackie Harrison: And my fear is… she won’t.

Share this quote
Isabel: You know, I never wanted to be a mom. Sharing it with you… that’s one thing. It’s another to be looking over my shoulder for the next twenty years, knowing someone else would have done it better… someone else would have done it right.
Jackie Harrison: What do you have that I don’t?
Isabel: You’re Mother Earth, incarnate.
Jackie Harrison: You’re… hip, and fresh.
Isabel: You ride with Anna.
Jackie Harrison: You’ll learn.
Isabel: You know every story, every wound, every memory. Their whole life’s happiness is wrapped up in you… every single second. Don’t you get it? Look down the road to her wedding. I’m in a room alone with her, fixing her veil, fluffing her dress, telling her no woman has ever looked so beautiful. And my fear is she’ll be thinking, “I wish my mom was here.”
Jackie Harrison: And mine is… she won’t.

Share this quote
Jackie Harrison: You know, Ben was born in two hours, went right to the breast, and camped there for 4 days. His blanket looked just like a cape, even the nurses thought so. He loves hearing that story about how he was born a magician.
Isabel: What about her?
Jackie Harrison: 28 hours. The doctors wanted to go in and get her, but I knew she’d come at her own time. You can never rush her.
Isabel: I’ll keep that in mind.

Share this quote
Isabel: You look tired.
Jackie Harrison: I hate when people say that. It’s like a polite way of telling you that you look like shit.

Share this quote
Jackie Harrison: Just because you can’t see something, doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

Share this quote
[after Anna has called and hung up twice]
Isabel: Hello?… What is your problem, asshole?
Anna Harrison: YOU are my problem!

Share this quote
Isabel: I am so unbelievably sick of your imperious bullshit. I never said I was June-fucking-Clever…
Jackie Harrison: You don’t use that kind of language in this house!
Isabel: …and if every time life hits her hard you want to have a twelve hour conversation every third Tuesday of the month, go right ahead, lady, I have a life.
Jackie Harrison: Oh, and I don’t?
[scoffs]
Jackie Harrison: You know what your problem is? You are so self-involved. You couldn’t be a mother.
Isabel: Maybe the problem here is your daughter, and that she is a spoiled, wise-ass little brat.
Jackie Harrison: Get out of my house. Get out!
Isabel: [pause, she turns to go] Are you sure? I didn’t see that on the schedule.

Share this quote
Anna Harrison: I don’t have to listen to you, you’re not my mother!
Isabel: THANK GOD FOR THAT!

Share this quote
[Jackie is smoking marijuana]
Jackie Harrison: Yep. Life’s a tradeoff. It’s finally legal to smoke dope, but you got to have cancer.
Isabel: Are you dying?
Jackie Harrison: Not today.

Share this quote
Jackie Harrison: What are we going to tell the kids?
Luke: Maybe we should tell them the truth. They can handle it. It should’ve been me instead of you.
Jackie Harrison: I’ll go along with that.

Share this quote
[to Luke]
Isabel: Don’t fight with me when I’m hungry.

Share this quote
Ben Harrison: Mommy…
Jackie Harrison: What, sweetie?
Ben Harrison: If you want me to hate her I will.

Share this quote
Isabel: It’s not that I can’t cook, I choose not to cook.

Share this quote
Isabel: If you meet me back here in 1 hour, I will prove to you why you hired me… even though I wouldn’t sleep with you

Share this quote
Isabel: [argueing with Jackie, after giving Anna some advice about a guy] What is it that your worried about, looking bad at the P.T.A?

Share this quote
Luke: Don’t do this. Don’t bring in the lawyers. You know that the kids aren’t in any real danger, this is about Isabel.

Share this quote
Isabel: Maybe the problem is that your daughter is a spoiled, little brat!
Jackie Harrison: Get out of my house, get out.
Isabel: Are you sure? I didn’t see that on the schedule.

Share this quote
Ben Harrison: [on the phone with Jackie] And you wish that you were here making me spaghetti…
[whispering]
Ben Harrison: so I don’t have to eat dad’s yucky lamb chops.

Share this quote
Ben Harrison: [to Isabel] Will you sing me a song? My mom always sings to me when I get hurt.

Share this quote
Anna Harrison: I’m sorry you’re sick.

Share this quote
Luke: We’ll beat it. You’re not alone in this you know. You don’t have to go through this by yourself… you know that? Understand what I’m saying?

Share this quote
Isabel: [backstage at the school Thanksgiving play] I have something to tell you.
Jackie Harrison: You’re having Michael Jackson’s baby.
Isabel: That, *and* Anna is totally over her head for Brad Kovitsky.
Jackie Harrison: [gasp] No!

Share this quote
Isabel: You know, I never wanted to be a mom. Sharing it with you… that’s one thing. It’s another to be looking over my shoulder for the next twenty years, knowing someone else would have done it better… someone else would have done it right.
Jackie Harrison: What do I have that you don’t?
Isabel: You’re Mother Earth, incarnate.
Jackie Harrison: You’re… hip, and fresh.
Isabel: You ride with Anna.
Jackie Harrison: You’ll learn.
Isabel: You know every story, every wound, every memory. Their whole life’s happiness is wrapped up in you… every single second. Don’t you get it? Look down the road to her wedding. I’m in a room alone with her, fixing her veil, fluffing her dress, telling her no woman has ever looked so beautiful. And my fear is she’ll be thinking, “I wish my mom was here.”
Jackie Harrison: And mine is… she won’t.

About Karim Shah's Blog Life is what we expect from it

An energetic and optimistic person who always looks at life with hope and courage. Strongly believe in everything happens for a reason and for good. Life is what you dream of it. Every situation is what you give meaning to it. There is nothing as such existing except what we give meaning to it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

